• 'It’s pleasure being in KIFF committee with eminent ones'
    Times of India | 26 November 2021
  • Kolkata: The 27 edition of the Kolkata International Film Festival (KIFF), to be held between January 7 and 14, will see a number of new faces in its executive committee. Among them are actor-turned Trinamool Youth Congress president Saayoni Ghosh, actor-turned-Dakshin Sonarpur MLA Lovely Maitra, actors Sayantika Banerjee and Koushani Mukherjee, singer-song writer Anupam Roy and singer-director Anindya Chattopadhyay have been included in the executive committee. Bir Baha Hasda, the minister of state of the department of forests, also features in the list of new entrants.

    An executive council has been formed to steer and supervise the work for the 27th edition of KIFF. Power minister Aroop Biswas will be the chief advisor while minister of state for information and cultural affairs Indranil Sen will play the role of co-chief advisor. The secretary of the I&CA department will function as the director general of the festival.

    Raj Chakraborty, Sayantika Banerjee, June Malia and Parambrata Chatterjee

    Other members of the executive committee include Goutam Ghosh, Sandip Ray, Ranjit Malick, Prosenjit Chattopadhyay, Rituparna Sengupta, Shatabdi Roy, Deb, Nusrat lahan, Mimi Chakraborty, Moon Moon Sen, Chiranjit Chakraborty, Arindam Sil, Parambrata Chattopadhyay, Srijit Mukherjee, Kaushik Ganguli, Indrani Halder, Haranath Chakraborty, Jisshu Sengupta, Abir Chatterjee, Saswata Chatterjee, Koushik Sen, Ritwick Chakraborty, Anirban Bhattacharya, Koel Mallick, Paoli Dam, Churni Ganguly, Soham Chakraborty, June Maliah, Kanchan Mallick Member, Lovely Moitra , Bir Baha Hasda, Sayani Ghsoh Member, Probhat Roy, Sekhar Das, Sayantika Banerjee Member, Koushani Mukherjee, Judhajit Sarkar, Sudeshna Roy, Arindam Ganguly, Diganta Bagchi, Premendu Bikash Chaki, Anindya Chatterjee, Anupam Roy and Arindam Dey. That apart, Swaroop Biswas, Shankar Pal, Piya Sengupta and Shankar Chakraborty have also been included in the committee. Raj Chakraborty, who will act as KIFF chairperson for the third time in a row, said, “I welcome everyone to actively take part in ensuring that KIFF becomes a much-talked-about festival in the global circuit too. I will personally have a word with everyone so that I can get their suggestions for making KIFF a grand success.”

    Lovely Maitra and Koushani Mukherjee (right)

    Saayoni, who has been balancing her career in politics and shooting, is happy with the inclusion. She was recently in the news after being arrested by Agartala Police. That was on the day she had her shooting for Anik Dutta’s ‘Aparajito’. “Anik-da had to do it without me. But both Anik-da and Hassan-da (producer Firdausul Hasan) have been very understanding. I will make it up with one-take-OK shots the next time I’m on floor.”

    On being asked how she will manage her demanding work in politics, shooting as well as the new assignment at KIFF, Saayoni said, “I am just responding to what’s coming my way. I’m glad people from all aspects, be it politics, film industry, mass in general are accepting me. It’s a great pleasure being there in the committee with the eminent ones. This is my first time. So, I look forward to a lot of learning. KIFF will be glorious.”

    Anindya Chattopadhyay (left) and Anupam Roy

    Anupam told TOI that he is “honoured” to be a part, Koushani was “pleasantly surprised”. “This inclusion is surprising for me but I am happy to be a part of the festival,” she said. Lovely too is glad to have been given the “new responsibility”. “I will try to discharge it to the best of my abilities,” she said.

    Sayantika, on her part, is “delighted” that this new role will give her an opportunity to be “closely in touch with world and Indian cinema”. Earlier on, Anindya was part of KIFF’s NETPAC jury. “I was the only Indian in that jury and it was a very rewarding experience for me. I am glad to have been included in the executive committee,” Anindya said.

    Koushik Sen

    However, Koushik Sen whose name features in the notification for executive committee members told TOI that he wants to excuse himself. “It’s a great honour. However, I feel those in this committee need to understand cinema first. I might be a competent actor in front of the camera but that doesn’t mean I understand cinema as a whole. My son, Riddhi, has a better idea about cinema. I am a complete theatre person. Not only am a theatre practitioner, I also know what’s happening in the theatre world across the globe. I will be happy to be a part of any committee to do with theatre but not with cinema.”

    An apex advisory committee has also been formed to “steer, render necessary advice and supervise the entire event from time to time". Members of this committee include Madhabi Mukhopadhyay, Sabitri Chattopadhyay, Goutam Ghose, Sandip Ray, Ranjit Mallick, Prosenjit Chattopadhyay, Kaushik Ganguly, Srijit Mukherjee, Arindam Sil, Raj Chakraborty, Parambrata Chattopadhyay and the secretary of the 1&CA department.
  • Link to this news (Times of India)